Telefilm New Voices Award recipients named

Reem Morsi, Thomas Pepper and Brandon Ash-Mohammed are among this year's winners.

ScriptwritingReem Morsi and Thomas Pepper are two of the six recipients of this year’s Telefilm Canada New Voices Award.

The annual award for emerging screenwriters offers winners a pass to the Toronto Screenwriting Conference and a meeting with Telefilm Canada representatives. To qualify, candidates need to have written at least two short films, of which one has been produced, and have written one feature-length screenplay, TV pilot or series treatment.

This years winners are Morsi (whose past credits include the short, Show and Tell), Pepper (Milk and Honey), Adam Perry (A Small Fortune), Brandon Ash-Mohammed (The Decision), JJ Neepin (Headdress) and Kenny Wong (Starving Artist). 

Past participants include Carly Stone, whose Girl/Woman was selected for Telefilm Canada’s 2016 Feature Comedy Exchange, and Kim Izzo who was this year named to Humanitas’ New Voices mentorship program.

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference will take place April 22 and 23 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.