Whistler ’16: Power Pitch, Doc Lab, Stars to Watch finalists named

Producers Andrew Jenkins and Christine Falco are among those selected for the second annual pitch boot camp.

Whistler Film FestivalAndrew Jenkins and Christine Falco are among six selected for the Whistler Film Festival’s Power Pitch boot camp, the festival unveiled.

The three-day competition is aimed at helping Canadian feature producers fine-tune their project packages and pitch skills. The winner takes home a $1,000 cash prize and $10,000 studio credit.

This year’s participants include Colstrip producer Andrew Jenkins, who also stars in and produced Lost Solace, which is competing for the Borsos award for best Canadian feature at the festival.

Montreal-based producer Christine Falco was selected for the Power Pitch boot camp for The Forgotten, as was Siobhan McCarthy with Glendale, Sara McIntyre with The Last Six, Jessica Adams with My Heart is in my Head, and Jeremy Torrie with Old Magic.

Whistler has also named its Doc Lab: Story Money Impact finalists. The three-day intensive program, led by former NFB executive producer Tracey Friesen, aims to help filmmakers improve their story craft, funding strategy or outreach plan.

The finalists are Ian Mackenzie, producer, Healing Love; Kate Kroll, producer, Calamity Kate and the Fighting Cholitas; Ellen Vanstone, writer/director, Take Back the Trope; Andrew Nisker, filmmaker, Ground War; Jennifer Lee, director, Right to Know; Daniel Pierce, director/producer, Heartwood: A West Coast Forestry Documentree; Michael Bernard, Densecity; Trish Neufeld, filmmaker, Cumberland: It takes a Forest; Rayne Zukerman, director, Hair; Darcy Turenne, filmmaker, The Forgotten Playground; and Sheona McDonald, filmmaker, The Man Film.

Also announced were Whistler’s 2016 Stars to Watch finalists. The program aims to shine a spotlight on Western Canadian acting talent. This year’s finalists, who all star in films at the festival, are: Agam Darshi, Chokeslam; Charlie Kerr, An American Dream: The Education of William Bowman and Lost Solace; Michael Eklund, Chokeslam; and Taylor Hickson, Hunting Pignut.