Shaw Media Diverse Voices winners announced

Chris Beaver, Kadon Douglas and Jenna Neepin are among the participants that were selected for the inaugural edition of the program.
cameras - Shutterstock photo

Shaw Media and Hot Docs have named the eight up-and-coming Canadian filmmakers chosen to be a part of the 2015 Shaw Media Diverse Voices Program.

Taking place at this year’s Hot Docs fest, the eight participants will team up with industry professionals for training  seminars, career management workshops and networking events. All-access passes, round-trip travel to Toronto and accommodation will be provided to participants.

This year’s participants in the Shaw Media Diverse Voices Program are Chris Beaver, Joella Cabalu, Kadon Douglas, Ashley Duong, JP Larocque, Jenna Neepin, Mariam Zaidi and Eui Yong Zong. They were chosen by jury consisting of Sarah Jane Flynn, senior director of factual content at Shaw Media, Sharon Lewis, director, producer and showrunner, Daphne Vaz, a consultant with Media Enhanced  and Stephanie McArthur, industry programs manager at Hot Docs

The training program will focus on documentary and factual television production and show running, proposal preparation, production cycles, financing, coproduction and accessing broadcasters.

This year’s Hot Docs Festival runs from April 23 to May 3 at various locations throughout Toronto.

- Image courtesy of Shutterstock