Goon, Awkward Sexual Adventure win at Canadian Comedy Awards

Also, Mr. D (pictured) and This Hour has 22 Minutes tied for best TV show at the annual comedy festival held in Ottawa.

Surprised? Awkward sex and hockey violence were big winners at this year’s Canadian Comedy Awards, held Sunday, Oct. 6 in Ottawa.

Michael Dowse’s Goon took the prize for best feature film, while director Sean Garrity won the award for best direction in a feature for My Awkward Sexual Adventure, and one of the film’s stars, Emily Hampshire, won for best performance in a feature.

Tied for best TV show were Mr. D and This Hour has 22 Minutes, while Space Janitors was named best web series.

A Little Bit Zombie‘s Christopher Bond and Trevor Martin received kudos for best writing in a feature, while Jim Annan took the prize for best male performance in a feature, for his role in Ian Robertson’s quirky comedy Unlucky.

In the TV/web sphere, Adam Brodie and Dave Derewlany took top honours for best direction in a TV or web series for HBO’s Funny as Hell, while Dan Beirne and Mark Little won for best writing for web series Dad Drives (episode 3). Little also won best male performance in a TV or web series for the same ep of Dad Drives, while Naomi Snieckus was named the winner in female TV or web performance for her role on Mr. D.

The Imponderables and Nicholas Campbell were tapped for best ensemble performance in a TV or web series for Bill & Sons Towing, and the best comedy short prize went to Internet Search History Revealed, from Arlen Konopaki.

Elsewhere, improv icon Colin Mochrie was named Canadian comedy person of the year, while in juried categories, comedian Mike MacDonald received the Phil Hartman Award, Robin Duke received the Dave Broadfoot Award, and Angela Martin received the Roger Abbott Award.