Let the Daylight Into the Swamp wins best of fest Golden Sheaf

Foxed! and Will also received top prizes at the Yorkton Film Festival's annual awards (Let the Daylight Into the Swamp pictured).

Let the Daylight Into the Swamp, directed by Jeffrey St. Jules and produced by the NFB’s Anita Lee won the best of the festival award at this year’s Yorkton Film Festival’s Golden Sheaf Awards. The film also won for best experimental film.

Animated short Foxed!, directed by James Stewart and Nev Bezaire and produced by the Geneva Film Co., and dramatic short Will, directed by Laurence Cohen and produced by Year of the Skunk Productions, are also amongst the winners at this year’s Yorkton Film Festival.

And Hulo Films’ The First Days, directed by H. Mauricio Carvajal, took the Ruth Shaw Best of Saskatchewan Award.

Elsewhere, Hard Light, directed by Justin Simms, received the Founder’s Award, while Smoke Traders, directed by Jeff Dorn and Catherine Bainbridge, took the best aboriginal award.

The full list of Golden Sheaf winners is available here.