Air Canada reveals enRoute Festival finalists

The winner of the best short film award will take home a cash prize of $5,000 and win a trip to the Clermont Ferrand International Short Film Festival.
We Refuse to be Cold

Air Canada on Wednesday announced the finalists in its enRoute Film Festival who will compete for the best short film award prize of $5,000 and a trip to the Clermont Ferrand International Short Film Festival.

In competition are Alexander Carson’s We Refuse to be Cold (pictured), Fernand-Philippe Morin-Vargas’ Noeud Papillon, Danielle Sahota and Davina Rimmer’s We Blinded the Sun and Justin Friesen’s Let’s Make Lemonade.

Awards will also be offered for achievement in documentary, achievement in direction and achievement in cinematography.

Finalists were selected by a jury made up of a who’s who of Canadian screen talent, including actors Jay Baruchel, Gordon Pinsett, Callum Keith Rennie, Karine Vanasse, Alison Pill and Saul Rubinek, directors Mary Harron and Jacob Tierney, and producer Niv Fichman.

New to this year’s festival is the people’s choice award, which allows viewers to vote for their favourite film on the enRoute festival website between Nov. 1 and Nov. 7. The winner will receive an Air Canada flight for two to anywhere in North America.

Free public screenings of the top six films will take place Wednesday, Nov. 7 in Toronto at Varsity Theatre, in Vancouver at the Scotiabank Theatre and in Montreal at the Quartier Latin.

The films can also be viewed in-flight by Air Canada passengers until December.

The awards ceremony is to be held Nov. 7 at the Panorama lounge, following the Toronto screenings.