Fantasia unveils jury award winners

Director Patrick Bouchard (pictured) won a special award for technical accomplishment for NFB animated short Bydlo Wednesday as the festival wrapped in Montreal.
PatrickBouchard-creditMarlene Gelineau PayetteNFB

Director Patrick Bouchard is among the award winners at this year’s Fantasia International Film Festival.

The festival drew to a close with the handing out of its jury awards, announced in Montreal on Wednesday night.

Bouchard won a special award for technical accomplishment for NFB animated short Bydlo, produced by Julie Roy.

Chosen by the feature film jury of Gabriel Pelletier, Jay Baruchel, Sylvain Krief and Maggie Lee, Kim Jee-woon and Yim Pil-sung’s Doomsday Book took the Cheval Noir Award for best film, while Jason Banker’s Toad Road won best director and best actor (James Davidson) awards at the Fantasia International Film Festival Wednesday night.

Alberto Marini took the best screenplay award for Sleep Tight, while Majiana Jankovic received a best actress prize for her performance in Beast and AnnaLynne McCord (90210) received a special mention for her performance in Excision.

Charles de Lauzirika’s Crave won the New Flesh Award for best first feature, while Yeon Sang-ho’s The King of Pigs received a special mention, selected by the first feature jury that included Jorge Michel Grau, Michael Biehn, Travis Crawford, Anne Delseth, Jeff Deutchman and Sonya Kim.

In the festival’s first-time animation sidebar, The King of Pigs also won the Satoshi Kon Award for achievement in animation, and Don Hertzfeldt’s It’s Such a Beautiful Day nabbed the best animated short prize.

Elsewhere, Stian Kristiansen’s Videoboy won best international short, while Pau Teixidor’s Leyenda grabbed a special mention.

The 16th Fantasia International Film Festival ran July 19 to Aug. 9.

Photo: by Marlene Gelineau Payette  / from the NFB