Jean-Pierre Blais named chair of CRTC

The Prime Minister’s office has announced Jean-Pierre Blais as the new chair person of the CRTC, replacing Leonard Katz, who had been in the role as acting chairperson since Konrad von Finckenstein’s term ended in January of this year.

“He brings a strong legal background and a comprehensive understanding of the broadcasting and telecommunications sectors and the role of the CRTC, having held high-level positions at the Treasury Board Secretariat, the Department of Canadian Heritage and the CRTC,” said Prime Minister Stephen Harper in a statement.

Blais’s promotion is effective June 18. He is currently posted with the federal Treasury Board Secretariat, and has served in senior roles at the Department of Canadian Heritage and the CRTC.

As chairperson of the CRTC, Blais will supervise and direct the work and staff and preside at meetings of the Commission, according to the release. He is appointed to a five-year term.

Tags: ,

The definitive CDN broadcast and production resource.
Over 5,000 company listings!



NFB75Anniversary - (Left to right) Kat Cizek (Filmmaker in residence, director of the NFB’s Highrise), Jerome Zwicker (former NFB board member), Michelle van Beusekom (‎Assistant director general, English program), Anita Lee (NFB Ontario executive producer), Luisa Frate (NFB director general - CFO, COO, CTO), Lieutenant Governor of Ontario David Onley, Anne-Marie Applin (former NFB board member), Claude Joli-Coeur (NFB Acting government film commissioner and chairperson), Deborah Drisdell (NFB director general, accessibility and digital enterprises), Kristine Collins (NFB director, education and institutional markets), Jérome Dufour (NFB director general of marketing and communications)