Short film The Big Charade tops Leos

Vancouver: Forty individual program titles were honored with 80 Leo Awards May 28 and 29 in Vancouver, with The Big Charade winning nine, including best short film (Carwyn Jones, producer).

Created by emerging talent Jesse McKeown, who won Leos for best direction and screenwriting, The Big Charade stars Brendan Fletcher as a man looking for a mean game of charades.

Science fiction drama The Collector, which came into the Leo Awards with a record-setting 21 nominations, collected six trophies, including best direction (Michael Robison), visual effects (Mark Breakspear, Rosmary Conte, Mathew Krentz, Nick Hsieh, Zane Harker) and production design (Jason Sutherland).

Competing television dramas Human Cargo and Stargate SG-1 earned four Leos each, with Human Cargo winning best drama (Hugh Beard, Debra Beard, Brian McKeown, Linda Svendsen, producers) and Stargate’s Michael Shanks and Amanda Tapping winning best male and female lead actors.

Feature film The Snow Walker picked up six Leos, including best lead performance male (Barry Pepper), visual effects (Mark Benard) and costumes (Allisa Swanson). My Life Without Me, produced in conjunction with Pedro Almodovar, won the best feature Leo for producers Gordon McLennan and Ogden Gavanski among its three trophies. Gina Chiarelli was named best lead performer female for See Grace Fly, the production’s only Leo.

High-profile documentary The Corporation also earned six Leos, including best history/biography/ social/political documentary (Mark Achbar, Bart Simpson, producers) and direction (Achbar, Jennifer Abbott).

Scary Godmother Halloween Spooktacular took home three Leos, including best animation program or series (Brett Gannon, Kim Dent Wilder, Phil Mitchell, Sharan Wood, Kevin Gamble, producers) and best direction (Ezekiel Norton).

Yvon of the Yukon was named best youth or children’s program (Blair Peters, Chris Bartleman, Alia Nakashima, producers) and also won for best direction (Greg Sullan).

Best sports program or series was a tie between CFL Traditions (Derik Murray and John N. Hamilton, producers) and Spirit of the Game (Annie Frazier Henry, producer).

ZeD, CBC’s late-night program, won two Leos, including best music, comedy or variety program or series. Going for Gold: 2010 Olympic Bid, by Global Television, was named best news program.

Vicki Gabereau won for best talk series and best talk show host (Vicki Gabereau).

Longtime Leo Award favorite Da Vinci’s Inquest earned just two awards for best guest performances male (Colin Cunningham) and female (Quelemia Sparrow).

Dan Lee West, producer and director of student production Alarium, won two trophies. Best music video went to producer Gabriel Napora for What Went On by Hip Joint.

The full list of winners is available on the Leos website.

The definitive CDN broadcast and production resource.
Over 5,000 company listings!



2015-ACTRA-Awards - Leah Pinsent